Pan-European Seal Programme

Program Description

The Pan-European Seal is a Professional IP Traineeship Programme that covers many academic areas, including law. It is promoted in partnership by two of the world's largest Intellectual Property offices, the EU Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain, and the European Patent Office (EPO) in Munich, Germany, together with their strategic University partners. The Center for the Law of Innovation and Competition (CLIC) is one of these partners and manages the program at the University of Bern.

The Pan-European Seal provides opportunities for recent graduates of the University of Bern to complete a 12-month paid traineeship at the EUIPO or the EPO, helping them get a foot in the door of the competitive world of IP through valuable on-the-job multicultural professional work experience.

Training will take place at the EUIPO or at the EPO, with a monthly training allowance, as well as other benefits. Trainees will also benefit from on-the-job coaching by staff, as well as online training and, if applicable, language courses.

How to Apply

The application process is limited to University of Bern students or recent University of Bern graduates who are shortlisted by the CLIC for consideration by the EPO or the EUIPO. Successful applicants will be offered a 12-month traineeship either at the EPO or at the EUIPO. The contractual relationship is between the selected candidate and the EUIPO or the EPO.

Typically, interested students or recent graduates apply to CLIC in February or March for a traineeship that starts in the fall of the same year. The decisions by the EPO and the EUIPO will usually be made in May. It is not possible to apply for both the EPO and the EUIPO. Current students are normally in their last semester of their Master's studies when they apply for a traineeship, because they must have obtained their degree by the time they start their traineeships. Recent graduates may apply provided that they did not graduate more than two years prior to applying for the traineeship.

A successful application requires the candidate to have completed selected online training courses offered and specified by the EPO and the EUIPO. For details, please contact the CLIC. The online training portals of the EUIPO and the EPO can be found here:

In addition, the EUIPO and the EPO offer the following IP Teaching Kits:

Interested?

If you are interested in the Pan-Europeal Seal Traineeship Programme, please contact the CLIC for more details.

Additional information on the program in general can also be found on the websites of the EUIPO and the EPO:

Pan-European Seal Programme

Gegenstand

Das Pan-European Seal Professional Traineeship Programm richtet sich an Abgängerinnen und Abgänger praktisch aller akademischer Studienrichtungen, wozu abgesehen von den Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften namentlich auch die Rechtswissenschaften gehören. Das Programm wird von den beiden grossen europäischen Ämtern im Bereich des Immaterialgüterrechts, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für Geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante und dem Europäischen Patentamt (EPA) in München, gefördert und zusammen mit strategischen universitären Partnern durchgeführt. Das Center for the Law of Innovation and Competition (CLIC) ist einer dieser Partner.

Das Programm ermöglicht es Abgängerinnen und Abgängern der Universität Bern, nach erfolgreichem Studienabschluss beim EUIPO oder beim EPA ein zwölfmonatiges bezahltes Traineeship (Praktikum) zu absolvieren, das ihnen wertvolle Arbeitserfahrung in einem internationalen Umfeld vermittelt und so auch Türen für immaterialgüterrechtsrelevante Berufe öffnen soll.

Bewerbung

Die Bewerbung setzt eine Nomination durch die Universität Bern, handelnd durch das Center for the Law of Innovation and Competition (CLIC), voraus. Das CLIC erstellt für das EUIPO und das EPA je eine Liste von maximal fünf Kandidierenden, die dann von den Ämtern evaluiert wird. Fällt der Entscheid des EUIPO oder des EPA für einen oder mehrere Kandidierende positiv aus, wird den betreffenden Personen ein Traineeship Vertrag für die Dauer von 12 Monaten angeboten.

Die Bewerbung beim CLIC erfolgt typischerweise im Februar oder März für den Beginn des Traineeships im Herbst desselben Jahres. Der Entscheid seitens von EUIPO und EPA fällt typischerweise im Mai. Man kann sich nur entweder für das EUIPO oder das EPA bewerben. Der Studienabschluss kann im Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung kurz bevorstehen, darf jedoch nicht länger als zwei Jahre zurückliegen.

Für die Bewerbung wird auch vorausgesetzt, dass die Kandidierenden vor Antritt des Praktikums bestimmte Online-Kurse des EUIPO bzw. EPA absolviert haben. Bitte wenden Sie sich an das CLIC für weitere Details. Die betreffenden Kursportale finden Sie hier:

Darüber hinaus bieten EUIPO und EPA für Studierende und Dozierende ein IP Teaching Kit an:

Interessiert?

Sind Sie am Pan-European Seal Professional Traineeship Programm interessiert? Wenden Sie sich mit Fragen oder für weitere Auskünfte gerne an das CLIC.

Weitere Informationen zum Pan-European Seal Professional Traineeship Programm finden Sie auch auf den Webseiten der beiden Ämter: